Plan Now for Awards Season: Recognize Innovation and Excellence at Your College

League for Innovation
Innovation Showcase

The League for Innovation in the Community College has two awards programs each spring that recognize and celebrate community college innovation and excellence. League Alliance member institutions are encouraged to participate in this year’s awards season to showcase outstanding faculty, staff, and administrators and the creative programs and practices they have developed.

Innovation of the Year

Submission Deadline: April 18, 2016

Established over 30 years ago, the League’s Innovation of the Year award was devised as a way to recognize significant innovations at Alliance member colleges. These innovations reflect capstone achievements and the spirit of innovation and experimentation upon which the League was founded. This award is designed to recognize innovative programs, practices, partnerships, policies, and activities that improve the ability of institutions to serve students and the community, and to honor the faculty, staff, and administrators who have created and implemented them. Granting this award provides a venue for showcasing these innovations and the dedicated community college educators who strive for excellence on a daily basis.

League Alliance colleges determine their own eligibility criteria and selection protocol, and each college or system submits their winning Innovation of the Year through our online system. One winner will be accepted for each college or district. Winning innovations should meet at least one of six criteria including quality, efficiency, cost effectiveness, replication, creativity, and timeliness.

Visit for information about the Innovation of the Year awards, including past recipients, full criteria, and submission instructions.

John & Suanne Roueche Excellence Awards

Submission Deadline: December 24, 2015

In recognition of the long tradition of excellence in community college teaching and leadership, the League established the John & Suanne Roueche Excellence Awards in 2012. These awards are open to League Alliance member institutions to celebrate outstanding contributions and leadership by community college faculty and staff. Recipients are recognized in a series of activities and promotions, and honored at special events at the League's Innovations conference each spring.

John E. and Suanne D. Roueche, leaders in the community college field and early proponents of the idea that teachers have major responsibility for how well students perform in the classroom, have been partners and friends of the League for Innovation in the Community College for over 35 years. What began as a working relationship with the founders of the League has evolved into a full-fledged partnership through collaborative efforts on projects of mutual interest and national concern.

We invite all League Alliance member colleges and systems to submit the name(s) of those at their institutions who exemplify exceptional teaching and leadership for Excellence Awards.

Visit for more information and submission instructions.